My Valentine

15 02 2017

It’s been a super long time since I last wrote. For that I apologize. I may someday go back and fill in some of the space, but starting from here is better than nothing.

Today was your 6th Valentine’s Day. You are in Kindergarten.

All of the kids in your class made boxes to hold your Valentine’s cards. Not everyone made their cards like you did. You handmade each one. I think all told you made about 25 cards for classmates and teachers.

You could have bought the cards in which all you needed to do was sign your name, but no. That’s not who you are. That’s not what is in your heart.

Speaking of hearts, I had to go to work early for a meeting so I didn’t see much of you in the morning. I was able to slip away to surprise you for lunch. You were so excited, and it was nice to be able to eat with you.

One thing struck me during lunch. Two or three times you and I were asked about you having two Moms. One even suggested that you had two moms because your Dad died. In a perfectly normal tone of voice you said, “No, I just have two Moms. I’ve never had a Dad.”

I was so proud of you. I also was disappointed in myself for not giving you tools to understand the answer to that question, so I’m going to spend some time with you in the coming days talking about your birth story to help you better understand.

Thanks for being such a big girl. Thank you for being proud of who you are. Thank you for teaching me every day what it means to be gracious and kind. Thank you for being in my life.

Thank you for being my Valentine.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment