Grandma Sharon

24 12 2013

Lil,

You spoke to your Grandma Sharon a few times, most recently on her birthday, Nov. 7, 2013. She was so happy to talk with you. We could hear it in her voice. She told us how excited she was to get the birthday card you sent and signed and told you she loved you. You don’t know this concept now, and we haven’t told you about Grandma Sharon for that reason, but she went to Heaven on Monday, Dec. 16. That means she’s not on Earth like we are anymore.

She was much too young, 65. I’m sorry for both of you that you never met your Grandma Sharon in person. She would have had a blast with you, and you would have loved her big heart. She would have showed you her ducks like Allan did last weekend and she would have helped you pet Bobby the parakeet.

Part of the reason you didn’t meet her was timing and distance. But to be honest, and I will always try to be honest with you, a big part of the reason you didn’t ever see her was because I wasn’t sure I wanted to expose you to the craziness that I experienced as her daughter. I would hope that your relationship would have been better than mine, but I felt like I couldn’t chance that with you. 

It’s very complicated, and someday, if you want, we will talk about it, but I am confident that your Grandma Sharon is watching over us. She loves you more than anything, and now she has the ability to really help you. When she was on this Earth, she had physical and mental issues that prevented her from being the Mom and Grandmom we needed and she probably wanted to be but couldn’t.

Now, she will watch over you the rest of your life, guiding you to what is right and good in this world. If you look to the sky and see a star that is shining brighter than the others, that’s your Grandma Sharon. You will make her smile and most of all, you will make her proud.

I love you, Lil Park, and always will.

Mommy


Actions

Information

Leave a comment